CBDNA - Athletic Bands

Current Athletic Bands Committee

Isaiah Odajima, Baylor University, Chair
David Mills, University of Connecticut
Sam Sanchez, University of Notre Dame
Greg Martin, West Chester University
Amy Acklin, University of Louisville
Barry Houser, University of Illinois
David Plack, Florida State University
Chip Birkner, University of Florida
Gary Westbrook, Tarleton State University
Gordon Henderson, UCLA

Guidelines for Submissions of Juried Marching Band Performances for the CBDNA National Conference (2017)
Related File: GuidelinesforSubmissionofJuriedVideoPresentations.pdf

2018 CBDNA Athletic Band Symposium

The 2018 CBDNA ABS will be hosted by the University of Texas at Austin - Dr. Scott Hanna, May 30-June 2.

If you have any questions regarding this event, please direct to:

2017 CBDNA Athletic Band Symposium

The 2017 CBDNA ABS will be hosted by the University of Massachusetts, Amherst - Dr. Timothy Anderson, June 1-3.

If you have questions regarding this event, please direct to: tanderson@music.umass.edu.


2018 ABS Host Site Proposal Guidelines
Related File: 2018ABSHostSiteProposalGuidelines.pdf

Guidelines for Submissions of Juried Presentations for the CBDNA Athletic Band Symposium (2017)
Related File: GuidelinesforSubmissionsofJuriedPresentations_ABS2017.pdf

Hosts & Schedules of Past Athletic Band Symposia
Related File: SymposiumProgramSchedule-1.docx

2016 - University of Minnesota, hosts - Tim Diem, Betsy McCann
2015 - Colorado State University, hosts - Rebecca Phillips, Richard Frey
2014 - University of Virginia, hosts - Bill Pease, Andrew Koch
2013 - University of Oklahoma, host - Debra Traficante
2012 - Ohio State University, host - Jon Waters
2011 - Arizona State University, host - Jim Hudson
2010 - University of Louisville, host - Greg Byrne
2009 - University of Connecticut, host - David Mills, Marvin McNeill
2008 - University of Washington, host - Brad McDavid
2007 - Michigan State University, hosts - John T. Madden, Isaiah Odajima
2006 - University of North Carolina, hosts - Jeff Fuchs, Matt McClure
2005 - University of Illinois, host - Tom Caneva, Gary Smith
2004 - Ohio State University, hosts - Jon Woods, Jon Waters
2003 -
2002 - Ohio State University, host - Jon Woods

*The past schedules are currently being compiled and will be available on this site in PDF format soon. Please direct questions to Isaiah Odajima (Isaiah_Odajima@baylor.edu)

Statement on Hazing and Student Conduct

The following statement was developed in 2013 and formally adopted by the Athletic Band Committee in June, 2014.

The members of the College Band Directors National Association discourage hazing in any form and encourage bands to fully comply with the hazing and student conduct standards of their institutions.

CBDNA Athletic Band Guidelines

CBDNA Promotion and Tenure Guidelines for Marching and Pep Band Directors
Related File: CBDNAPromotionandTenureGuidelinesforMarchingandPepBandDirectors.pdf

Home About CBDNA News/Events/Articles Teaching Music Connecting with Audiences Ideas Resources Discussion Threads Member Services Related links Contact Us